Barack Obama: Wright Matters

It has been interesting to watch the story of Barack Obama’s pastor, Jeremiah Wright, unfold and the discussion of its relevance to his candidacy ensue. Instead of discussing the political commentary that has taken place or review sermons that can be viewed on youtube I will offer why Senator Obama’s historical association with Jeremiah Wright has inexorably altered my opinion of him. When I was a kid and went to temple the Rabbi made a point of arguing against inter-faith unions. Even though I was young it was apparent to me that the union of my Jewish mom and Lutheran (agnostic) father were at odds with what was being preached. I expressed my concern to my parents. How could they expect me to take seriously a faith and a Rabbi that opined that my conception was a bad idea? Similarly, I cannot understand how Barack Obama could associate himself with Jeremiah Wright for twenty years. And Barack Obama was not a kid. It is clear from Obama’s second book, The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream, that he not only agreed with Wright but found him inspirational. This is not the rhetoric that is going to move us to a “post racial” society and it is clear that the substance of of Barack Obama is something different than the veneer that is his candidacy.

2 responses to “Barack Obama: Wright Matters

  1. Good post!
    Whom to think you’d end up marrying a Buddhist to boot!?!
    🙂

  2. Koo Koo!

Leave a Reply

